Thursday, 28 February 2013

February Wrap Up ♥ ♥ ♥


Another month gone, another pile of books down - heading well towards my 100 year target!

This month i read and reviewed the following;

1.Katie Mcgarrys - Pushing The Limits
2.Amy Hatvanys - Heart Like Mine
3.Faith Sullivans - Heartbeat
4. Libba Brays - Beauty Queens
5. David Levithans - The lovers dictionary
5. Karen Joy Fowlers - The Jane Austen Book Club
6. Jodi Picoults - Lone Wolf

Hope you all had a lovely reading month!! Link me to your wraps up! x

Sunday, 24 February 2013

Beauty Queens - Libba Bray//REVIEWED

Photobucket
Genre; Young Adult

Synopsis

The fifty contestants in the Miss Teen Dream pageant thought this was going to be a fun trip to the beach, where they could parade in their state-appropriate costumes and compete in front of the cameras. But sadly, their airplane had another idea, crashing on a desert island and leaving the survivors stranded with little food, little water, and practically no eyeliner. What's a beauty queen to do? Continue to practice for the talent portion of the program - or wrestle snakes to the ground? Get a perfect tan - or learn to run wild? And what should happen when the sexy pirates show up? Welcome to the heart of non-exfoliated darkness. Your tour guide? None other than Libba Bray, the hilarious, sensational, Printz Award-winning author of A Great and Terrible Beauty and Going Bovine. The result is a novel that will make you laugh, make you think, and make you never see beauty the same way again.

Review
I started to read this book on a whim, with some similarities drawn from lord of the flies by other bloggers i decided to delve in. Overall - i loved this. The writing style was fanatasic, the book was written almost like a tv show with commerical breaks and words from the sponsors. The book tells the story of a group of miss teen dreams stuck on an island after their plane crashes and leaves them to fend for themselves. Huge similairites to lord of the flies to an extant but with an actual story underlying it too. Maybe there was some symbolism, but on the surface it was enjoyable.

Rating; 9/10

Youtube

Wednesday, 20 February 2013

Heartbeat - Faith Sullivan//REVIEWED(*)

Photobucket
Genre; Young Adult/Romance

Synopsis

Katie and Adam are afraid of love. She carries the scars of a first kiss gone terribly wrong. He uproots his life to flee the stinging betrayal of an ex. When trust is no longer an option, all romance is suspect. As a young paramedic, Adam rescues people for a living but cannot save himself. Katie, just out of high school, struggles with a tortured home life she cannot escape. Everything changes when Katie hops into the front seat of Adam's ambulance. Overwhelmed by what they are feeling, neither possess the confidence to make the first move. They walk away from each other, full of regret. To find her, Adam risks his future. To be with him, Katie sacrifices her security. Little do they know, what little time they do have, is being measured by a heartbeat that is slowly dying out

Review
I enjoyed this book, it was such a lovely read. I flew through it and found it very easy reading, def a holiday read near a pool somewhere. I found the characters like able and found myself rooting for them all along. The book explores the relationship between a new love with life pressures thrown in and thats what i enjoyed the most, it was a bit more realistic than most, new love always encounters pressures but alot of books paint a rosey picture

Rating ; 8/10
As much as i loved this, it was a nice simple read so def an 8

Youtube

Monday, 18 February 2013

Heart Like Mine - Amy Hatvany // REVIEWED (*)

Photobucket
Genre; Chick Lit

Synopsis

When a young mother dies under mysterious circumstances, those she leaves behind begin looking for answers in the past—and find a long-buried secret they could have never imagined.Thirty-six-year-old Grace McAllister never longed for children. But when she meets Victor Hansen, a handsome, charismatic divorced restaurateur who is father to Max and Ava, Grace decides that, for the right man, she could learn to be an excellent part-time stepmom. After all, the kids live with their mother, Kelli. How hard could it be? At thirteen, Ava Hansen is mature beyond her years. Since her parents’ divorce, she has been the one taking care of her emotionally unstable mother and her little brother—she pays the bills, does the laundry, and never complains because she loves her mama more than anyone. And while her father’s new girlfriend is nice enough, Ava still holds out hope that her parents will get back together and that they’ll be a family again. But only days after Victor and Grace get engaged, Kelli dies suddenly under mysterious circumstances—and soon, Grace and Ava discover there was much more to Kelli’s life than either ever knew. Narrated by Grace and Ava in the present with flashbacks into Kelli’s troubled past, Heart Like Mine is a poignant and hopeful portrait about womanhood, love, and the challenges of family life

Review
I was hooked straight away. I really didnt put this book down, the novel tells of the life of Kelli through the eyes of Grace & Ava predominately and the life neither knew she had. We learn unexpected secrets and how her life impacted on her death, her children and family. I found this was gripping but the subject matter didnt make for heavy reading instead just the right amount of drama. Overall this was a great read for a lover of chick lit.

Rating 8/10
I really enjoyed this, the rating reflects that

Youtube
here

Sunday, 17 February 2013

Pushing The Limits - Katie Mcgarry//REVIEWED (*)

Photobucket
Genre; Young Adult/Romance

Synopsis

No one knows what happened the night Echo Emerson went from popular girl with jock boyfriend to gossiped-about outsider with "freaky" scars on her arms. Even Echo can't remember the whole truth of that horrible night. All she knows is that she wants everything to go back to normal.But when Noah Hutchins, the smoking-hot, girl-using loner in the black leather jacket, explodes into her life with his tough attitude and surprising understanding, Echo's world shifts in ways she could never have imagined. They should have nothing in common. And with the secrets they both keep, being together is pretty much impossible. Yet the crazy attraction between them refuses to go away. And Echo has to ask herself just how far they can push the limits and what she'll risk for the one guy who might teach her how to love again.

Review
I thought i would be hooked on this book after such rave reviews, the beginning left me dissapointed, and as much as i was enjoying it i didnt feel myself wanting to pick this book up. Eventually i hit a turning point and throughly enjoyed it. I didnt feel emotionally challanged or moved by this book however i can see how it would affect others, i think i have just read alot heavier books. I found the characters really well written and i did love them overall. Noah & Echo were written to be together. Overall, i enjoyed this but i didnt think it was life changing.

Rating6/10
I enjoyed this in the end, but it wasnt as great as i was expecting

Youtube
here

Wednesday, 13 February 2013

The Midwifes Confession - Diane Chamberlain//REVIEWED

Photobucket
Genre; Adult/Drama

Synopsis

Dear Anna, What I have to tell you is difficult to write, but I know it will be far more difficult for you to hear, and I'm so sorry- The unfinished letter is the only clue Tara and Emerson have to the reason behind their close friend Noelle's suicide. Everything they knew about Noelle - her calling as a midwife, her passion for causes, her love for her friends and family - described a woman who embraced life. Yet there was so much they didn't know. With the discovery of the letter and its heartbreaking secret, Noelle's friends begin to uncover the truth about this complex woman who touched each of their lives - and the life of a desperate stranger - with love and betrayal, compassion and deceit.

Review
I am a huge fan of Diane Chamberlain books, very similiar in style to Jodi Picolut and usually her writing style is consistent. This one how ever was written in a different style to usual and this kinda bugged me. The novel tells the story of the death of Noelle and all that led up to through Noelles and her close friends eyes. Eventually when i got stuck into it i enjoyed and was left questioning everything right up till the very end of the book. If i hadnt read other books by the author i would of adored this, whilst i am a fan i dont think this was the best

Rating7/10
Average for Diane Chamberlain

Youtube
here

Saturday, 9 February 2013

Release Me - J Kenner - REVIEWED (*)

Photobucket
Genre; Adult/Eroitca

Synopsis
For fans of Fifty Shades of Grey and Bared to You comes an erotic, emotionally charged romance between a powerful man who’s never heard “no” and a fiery woman who says “yes” on her own terms. He was the one man I couldn’t avoid. And the one man I couldn’t resist. Damien Stark could have his way with any woman. He was sexy, confident, and commanding: Anything he wanted, he got. And what he wanted was me. Our attraction was unmistakable, almost beyond control, but as much as I ached to be his, I feared the pressures of his demands. Submitting to Damien meant I had to bare the darkest truth about my past—and risk breaking us apart. But Damien was haunted, too. And as our passion came to obsess us both, his secrets threatened to destroy him—and us—forever.


Review
This book is def one for fans of bared to you. There is huge similiarities between both the story line and characters perfect for a bit of a rudey fix. However, i found this slightly more enjoyable than bared to you. The novel tells the story of Damien and Nikki (i had to check the names!) and the relationship they embark on, based on lust, troubled pasts and intense emotion we see how they learn to deal with these feelings and each other. I was such a huge fan of this book and how it was written. I cannot wait for the second book (release date set as July 2013) and more of the beautiful Damien (yes, im hooked)

Rating; 9/10
One of the best books i have read of this genre around the fifty shades hype

Youtube
here

Sunday, 3 February 2013

One Night With Sole Regret (Series) - Olivia Cunning//Reviewed

Photobucket
Genre - Adult/Erotica

Synopsis
"For the five sexy rock gods of Sole Regret, finding love is easy, keeping it is hard."
In Try Me, Sole Regret's crafty drummer, Gabe "Force" Banner, seduces a straight-laced accountant before she realizes she's talking to a rock star. In Tempt Me, Sole Regret's troubled lead guitarist, Adam Taylor, might finally be ready to commit to the woman who saved him from a life of despair and abuse. In Take Me, Sole Regret's enigmatic vocalist, Jacob "Shade" Silverton, tries to keep his cool around one off-limits woman from his past, but she just might be too hot to resist

Review
These stories tell of the "rock band" Sole Regret and their, ahem backstage adventures. This is a light, in some aspects comical but filthy read. I enjoyed the short books and the fact i could read them in an evening was great. I think, as long as you dont take these too seriously they are great little books. The characters were fairly well written and i did find myself longing for more information on the characters, some of the books i found had little storylines which i was happy with but in the third i found more of a story line to be introduced and for me this was a little too late

Rating 6/10
Nice easy read, not too serious but filthy all the same.

Youtube
Here