Wednesday, 10 January 2018

Top 5 books of 2017.


So, i have spent the last few days catching up on everyones best reads of 2017, so i thought it would be about time to throw my thoughts into the mix, but picking only 5 out of all the 5* reads is kind of a hard job, but i think this year im gonna be more stricter on giving out a 5. That been said, ive managed to narrow it all down and there is a mix of genres in my choices, i did read alot of books this year but i feel like these are the ones that stuck with me.



The Gin Shack On The Beach - Catherine Miller

You’re never too old to try something new!
When octogenarian Olive Turner is persuaded by her son to move into a retirement home, she congratulates herself on finding the secret to an easy life: no washing up, cooking or cleaning. But Olive isn’t one for mindless bingo with her fellow residents, and before the first day is over she's already hatching a plan to escape back to her beloved beach hut and indulge in her secret passion for a very good gin & tonic.
Before long Olive’s secret is out and turning into something wonderful and new. Only a select few are invited, but word spreads quickly about the weekly meetings of The Gin Shack Club. Soon everybody on the beach wants to become a gin connoisseur and join Olive on her journey to never being forced to grow older than you feel.

This was a read that was filled with love, friendship, drama & gin. It was a lovely read with an older MC than i usually read about but it was so full of mischief that it warmed me through and through. It also set me on my own quest to find my perfect g&t. Im still opting for Sipsmith (lemon drizzle) and fever tree tonic. 

Rattle - Fiona Cummins
A psychopath more frightening than Hannibal Lecter.

He has planned well. He leads two lives. In one he's just like anyone else. But in the other he is the caretaker of his family's macabre museum.

Now the time has come to add to his collection. He is ready to feed his obsession, and he is on the hunt.

Jakey Frith and Clara Foyle have something in common. They have what he needs.

What begins is a terrifying cat-and-mouse game between the sinister collector, Jakey's father and Etta Fitzroy, a troubled detective investigating a spate of abductions.

Set in London's Blackheath, Rattle by Fiona Cummins explores the seam of darkness that runs through us all; the struggle between light and shadow, redemption and revenge.

It is a glimpse into the mind of a sinister psychopath. And it's also a story about not giving up hope when it seems that all hope is already lost.
 

Rattle sat on my TBR for quite some time, because i couldn't decide wether it was going to be for me or not, it seemed more horror than i usually read, however - it was FANTASTIC, creepy, chilling and just plain odd but thats what made it so fantastic & i am so excited to read #2 this year.

The Light We Lost - Jill Santopolo

He was the first person to inspire her, to move her, to truly understand her. Was he meant to be the last?


Lucy is faced with a life-altering choice. But before she can make her decision, she must start her story—their story—at the very beginning.

Lucy and Gabe meet as seniors at Columbia University on a day that changes both of their lives forever. Together, they decide they want their lives to mean something, to matter. When they meet again a year later, it seems fated—perhaps they’ll find life’s meaning in each other. But then Gabe becomes a photojournalist assigned to the Middle East and Lucy pursues a career in New York. What follows is a thirteen-year journey of dreams, desires, jealousies, betrayals, and, ultimately, of love. Was it fate that brought them together? Is it choice that has kept them away? Their journey takes Lucy and Gabe continents apart, but never out of each other’s hearts.

This devastatingly romantic debut novel about the enduring power of first love, with a shocking, unforgettable ending, is Love Story for a new generation.

When a book is delivered to you with a packet of tissues you know its for a reason. The Light We Lost tore my heart into little bits and i snot cried through it. It was love, real love in a different way. It reminded me of Gayle Forman - Just One Day & David Nicholls - One Day. It truly was wonderful and has stuck with me ever since reading it.

Bad Little Girl - Frances Vick
‘I’m not safe – you have to help me…’

Little Lorna Bell is from a notorious family on a rundown estate. Everyone thinks she’s a nasty piece of work. The schoolchildren call her a thief. But Lorna’s hair is matted, her shoes pinch her feet and school teacher Claire Penny can’t help herself; some kids just need a bit more support, a bit more love, than the rest.

As the bond between teacher and pupil grows stronger, Claire sees Lorna’s bruises, and digs to uncover the disturbing tale behind them. Heartbroken, Claire knows she has to act. She must make Lorna safe. Just when Claire thinks she has protected Lorna, a chance encounter brings enigmatic stranger Marianne Cairns into their lives. Marianne seems generous and kind but there is something about her story that doesn’t quite add up. Why does she feel so at home, and why is Lorna suddenly so unsettled?

Claire has risked everything to save Lorna. But what can save Claire from the shocking truth?

An utterly unputdownable and darkly compelling read that will have fans of The Girl on the Train, The Sister, and Gone Girlabsolutely hooked.
 

This was a shocking read, it was a fantastic thriller that really did grip, it was not what you expect at all - and i cant beileve this narrative was thought up because it just - wow, i cant even. It was fantastic and 100 miles better than both The Girl On The Train & Gone Girl.

Behind Close Doors - B A Paris
The 2016 debut bloggers can't stop raving about. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train and The Ice Twins

Everyone knows a couple like Jack and Grace.

He has looks and wealth, she has charm and elegance. You might not want to like them, but you do. Though, you’d like to get to know Grace better.

But it’s difficult, because you realise Jack and Grace are never apart.

Some might call this true love. Others might ask why Grace never answers the phone. Or how she can never meet for coffee, even though she doesn’t work. How she can cook such elaborate meals but remain so slim. And why there are bars on one of the bedroom windows.

Sometimes, the perfect marriage is the perfect lie.

I cant recall who but someone tweeted this as the best book they have ever read, and i can totally agree with them - it was so unexpected again, and with the Thriller genre i feel like its getting a bit samey but this was another that hit the mark and was just brilliant. Again it was creepy and oh so twisted and totally better than The Girl On The Train.

Those are my top 5 but i did read some other awesome books this year - i am tempted to do my worst reads of 2017 as well. 

1 comment: