Wednesday, 16 August 2017

The Girlfriend - Michelle Frances || Review

The addictive Number One bestselling thriller, perfect for fans of Into the Water. 

 A girl. A boy. His mother. And the lie she'll wish she'd never told. 

 The Girlfriend by Michelle Frances is a gripping and chilling debut psychological thriller, based on the fall-out following an unforgiveable lie. It looks at the potentially charged relationship between girlfriend, boyfriend and his mother, which most women can identify with, and locates it in an extreme but believable setting.

 Laura has it all. A successful career, a long marriage to a rich husband, and a twenty-three year-old son, Daniel, who is kind, handsome, and talented. Then Daniel meets Cherry. Cherry is young, beautiful and smart but she hasn't had the same opportunities as Daniel. And she wants Laura's life.

 Cherry comes to the family wide-eyed and wants to be welcomed with open arms, but Laura suspects she's not all that she seems.

 When tragedy strikes, an unforgiveable lie is told. It is an act of desperation, but the fall-out will change their lives forever.

Review

The Girlfriend is up there with one of the best thrillers this year for me, its in the top 5 for sure.

Laura has it all, or so it seems. A career that she has worked hard for, a long marriage to a wealthy man and her son that she dotes on. He to Laura, is the perfect son. When he meets Cherry and spends 3 days in a row with her - Laura wants to meet her, i mean who is the girl that has captured Daniels heart. Surely she is perfect.

Cherry is desperate to meet Daniels family and cannot wait to be welcomed in and share the future with them. However, when everything isn't as it seems. The friendship between the pair becomes very strained. When a major tragedy strikes the family, a lie is told. Apparently with good intentions, but non the less a lie.

The fall out changes the game completely. 

The girlfriend is a fast paced dramatic thriller not like others on the market, it twists and turns and goes deeper and darker. I found i was constantly changing my mind on my opinions of the characters.  I liked them, then felt sorry for them, then couldn't imagine what they were thinking.

I flew through it and this was down to the genius writing style that kept the narrative moving. It was nail biting good, and i was like i couldn't read quick enough to get answers.

Would so recommend this to anyone and everyone.

Rating
5/5

Author Info


Michelle Frances graduated from Bournemouth Film School in 1996 and then from the Masters programme at the American Film Institute, Los Angeles, in 1998. Returning to London, she has worked for several years in film and TV as a script editor and producer for both the independent sector and the BBC. The Girlfriend is her first novel.

No comments:

Post a Comment